Updated: 30 States Now Approved for Federal Lost Wage Assistance

(Updated from last week)

As of today, 30 States have requested and been approved for Federal Lost Wage Assistance (LWA). The approved states are as follows:

Alabama – Alaska – California – Colorado – Connecticut – Georgia – Idaho – Indiana – Iowa – Kentucky Louisiana Maryland Massachusetts Michigan Missouri Montana New Hampshire New Mexico New York – North Carolina – Oklahoma – Pennsylvania – Rhode Island – Tennessee – Texas – Utah – Vermont – Washington

Eligible claimants can receive a total of $400, if their state contributes $100 and the remaining $300 is paid by the FEMA LWA grant. Claimants must be unemployed or partially unemployed due to the COVID-19 pandemic. Qualifying unemployment compensation includes regular unemployment compensation, expanded unemployment compensation options from CARES, and several others. Full program details can be found here.

Note: This situation remains fluid as additional states are considering participation. The deadline for states to apply is September 10, 2020.

About HRWS

HR Workplace Services, Inc. (HRWS) partners with the nation’s top insurance brokers and agencies providing their clients with best-in-class services for support and HR concerns, compliance and technology. HRWS operates in all 50 States and in over 25 different countries, serving organizations from three to 200,000 employees in 545 SIC Codes.

If you have questions about HRWS, call or email us directly or ask your insurance broker about us.

P: 866-691-7757
E: support@hrworkplaceservices.com

The information contained in this article is intended for educational purposes and to provide a general understanding of regulatory events, legislative changes and the law – not to provide specific legal advice.